Three Presidencies in India

July 10, 2012 at 7:33 pm Leave a comment

Presdencies, or provinces, were the administrative units of India, originally under the East India company and, after the rebellion of 1857, under the crown itself.  Each presidency started out as a trading post, with a factory and a fort. The area around each trading post grew rapidly and expanded during the years of British rule. The three major presidencies were the Bombay Presidency, the Madras Presidency, and the Bengal Presidency.

Although this map was drawn in 1931, I believe it is good representation of the administration of India when William and Lydia lived there in the 1860s and 1870s. For most of their time in India, William and Lydia lived in the Madras Presidency, although in different cities, including Fort St. George and Bangalore. Their daughter Jane was born on Port Blair,  an island in the Bay of Bengal about 700 miles from Fort St. George. Port Blair is in the Bengal Presidency.

Entry filed under: Halls. Tags: , , , , .

British Presence in India Information on William’s Regiments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

My Mom Ada

This blog traces the family history of my mom, Edith Porter Duffy. From the time I was a little girl, my mom would tell me stories about her family, who all called her Ada. I only wish I had asked her more questions while she was still here!

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: